Alerts & Actions

Champions of the 2023 Legislative Session

Every legislative session is demanding, and the sheer number of bills and the lack of civility made 2023 an especially contentious year. Please take a few moments to send your appreciation to the legislators on this list. Click on their names to get their email addresses, or you can call the Capitol switchboard at 406-444-4800 to send 5 legislators a message at once. 

The members of the Montana American Indian Caucus deserve special recognition. Many of these legislators have made courageous statements and laid the foundation years ago for the success that Indigenous sovereignty bills are having in the 2023 session. Please take a few moments to congratulate them on their success.

Sen. Mike Fox (D-Hays) 

Sen. Shane Morigeau (D-Missoula) 

Sen. Jason Small (R-Busby) 

Sen. Susan Webber (D-Browning) 

Rep. Donavon Hawk (D-Butte) 

Rep. Rhonda Knudsen (R-Culbertson) 

Rep. Tyson Running Wolf (D-Browning) 

Rep. Frank Smith (D-Poplar) 

Rep. Sharon Stewart Peregoy (D-Crow Agency) 

Rep. Marvin Weatherwax (D-Browning) 

Rep. Jonathan Windy Boy (D-Box Elder) 


These legislators made key votes and floor speeches that offered hope during some aggressive discussions. We’re grateful that they prioritized the needs of Montana voters over culture wars. 

Rep. Kim Abbott (D-Helena) 

Rep. Laurie Bishop (D-Livingston) 

Rep. Alice Buckley (D-Bozeman) 

Rep. Bob Carter (D–Missoula)

Sen Mary Ann Dunwell (D- Helena)

Sen. Pat Flowers (D-Belgrade) 

Rep. Tom France (D-Missoula) 

Sen. Jen Gross (D-Billings)

Rep. Donavon Hawk (D-Butte) 

Rep. SJ Howell (D-Missoula) 

Rep. Jonathan Karlen (D-Missoula)

Sen. Edie McClafferty (D-Butte) 

Rep. Eric Matthews (D-Bozeman) 

Sen. Shannon O’Brien (D-Missoula) 

Sen. Andrea Olsen (D-Missoula)

Sen. Susan Webber (D-Browning) 

Rep. Zooey Zephyr (D-Missoula)